About the Award

The Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award recognizes individuals, such as its namesake, Dr. Morris Chang, for their exceptional contributions driving the development, innovation, growth and long-term opportunities for the semiconductor industry.

Nominees for this award can come from any sector. Some examples include semiconductor company executives, venture capitalists, government officials and educators.

The first GSA Exemplary Leadership Award was established in 1999. It was awarded to Dr. Morris Chang, Chairman and Founder of Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Corporation (TSMC). Dr. Chang helped create the pure-play foundry business model, which has gained worldwide acceptance and is proven to be the backbone of the fabless semiconductor company’s success. In his honor, future recipients are now presented with the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award.

Past award winners include:

  • 2018: Dr. Lisa Su
  • 2017: Ray Stata
  • 2016: Lip-Bu Tan
  • 2015: Ming-Kai Tsai
  • 2013: Dr. Sehat Sutardja and
    2013: Ms. Weili Dai
  • 2012: Sir Robin Saxby
  • 2011: Dr. Henry Samueli
  • 2010: Dr. John Hennessy
  • 2009: Dr. Aart de Geus
  • 2008: Dr. Eli Harari
  • 2007: Gordon Campbell
  • 2006: Kamran Elahian
  • 2004: Jen-Hsun Huang
  • 2003: Dr. Irwin Mark Jacobs
  • 2002: Bernard Vonderschmitt
  • 2001: Mike Hackworth
  • 2000: Dr. Robert Pepper
  • 1999: Dr. Morris Chang

GSA created an Awards Committee to establish the criteria and administer the award nomination process. All nominations are reviewed and evaluated, and then the field is narrowed down to the top 2-3 candidates to become official nominees for the award. The Awards Committee then presents the nominees to the GSA Board of Directors who votes on the worthiest individual to receive this prestigious award. In the unlikely event that in any given year a suitable candidate is not presented, GSA’s Board of Directors retains the right to forgo presenting the award.


The Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award will be given to a leader that has made exceptional contributions toward the development, innovation, growth and long-term opportunities for the semiconductor industry.

Four major areas should be addressed regarding the nomination. Please provide:

  1. A biography of the candidate
  2. Examples of how this candidate has demonstrated creativity and innovation
  3. How the candidate has made a significant, measurable impact on advancing the industry through his/her dedicated service and leadership
  4. A depiction of how the candidate has fostered the growth and/or establishment of one or more companies which have had a positive impact within the semiconductor sector

You will also be asked to provide several names, along with contact information, of individuals who would serve as references to support the validity and scope of impact highlighted in the candidate’s nomination submitted for this award.

Thank you for your participation in the nomination process for the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award.

Nomination Form

GSA is now accepting nominations for individuals to be considered for the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award. Please complete the following nomination form for the individual you feel is worthy of this prestigious award.

Nominations can be completed using this on-line nomination form or via fax or e-mail by downloading the form in MS Word format.

Nomination Form Deadline Date – May 24, 2019.

Click here to submit your nomination online.

Download the Nomination Form (Word, 26 KB)

Please complete and return to GSA. Emails and faxes should be addressed to Traci Brandon, tbrandon@gsaglobal.org, 972-866-7579 x151.