SAN JOSE, Calif. (Oct. 25, 2023) – Global Semiconductor Alliance (GSA) proudly announces it will honor Dr. Rick (Lih Shyng) Tsai, the CEO and Vice Chairman of MediaTek with its prestigious Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award at this year’s Annual Awards Celebration on December 7, 2023.

Established in 1999, the Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award is the highest achievable honor through the GSA with recipients comprised of influential, distinguished individuals in semiconductors and related ecosystem. This honor recognizes individuals for their exceptional contributions, exemplifying how their vision and global leadership have transformed and elevated the entire semiconductor industry.

“I’m thrilled to honor this year’s Dr. Morris Chang Exemplary Leadership Award recipient, esteemed industry luminary, Dr. Rick Tsai,” said Jodi Shelton, GSA CEO. This recognition is the utmost honor within the GSA, exclusively awarded to distinguished and influential individuals in the realm of semiconductors and associated ecosystems. Dr. Tsai has consistently served as a trailblazer and prominent figure in our industry. His remarkable business acumen and the high regard he commands within the semiconductor industry has left a significant imprint, making a substantial impact.”

Dr. Rick (Lih Shyng) Tsai is the CEO and Vice Chairman of MediaTek, where he oversees worldwide businesses, product strategies, technology, engineering, research and development, manufacturing operations, and information technology. Dr. Tsai has cemented MediaTek as a leader across a wide variety of market segments and has driven the company to record revenue. Under his leadership MediaTek has increased its mobile market share to become the No. 1 provider for smartphone SoCs. Not only has MediaTek grown its global mobile market share, but the company has significantly expanded its presence in the U.S., Europe, and Japan. MediaTek is also the leader for smart TVs, voice assistants, Arm-based Chromebooks, and Android tablets, in addition to being the No. 1 Wi-Fi supplier across broadband, retail routers, consumer electronics devices, and gaming. In total, MediaTek powers more than two billion devices a year and its technology is in more than one-in-five homes around the world.

“The past few years have proved how pivotal semiconductors are in keeping us connected and driving innovation throughout the entire technology ecosystem. My vision has always been to make great technology more accessible, and it’s been remarkable to see this come to fruition over the course of my career,” said Dr. Tsai. “I am deeply honored by this recognition from industry leaders, and I am truly proud of what the MediaTek team and TSMC, as well as Taiwan’s fabless industry, have achieved over the years.”

Before joining MediaTek in 2017, Dr. Tsai served as chairman of Chunghwa Telecom, Taiwan’s largest telecommunications service provider. Prior to that, Dr. Tsai worked at Taiwan Semiconductor Manufacturing Company (TSMC) as President and CEO from 2005 to 2009. Before being appointed CEO, he served in other roles at TSMC including COO, Vice President of Worldwide Marketing and Sales, and two terms as Executive Vice President of Operations. Between these two terms, Dr. Tsai was President of Vanguard International Semiconductor, a specialty IC foundry service provider. Dr. Tsai received his bachelor’s degree of science in physics from National Taiwan University in Taipei and holds a Ph.D. in materials science and engineering from Cornell University.

This year’s GSA Awards Celebration stands as the industry’s paramount annual event, attracting the participation of over 1500 industry leaders. It provides a platform to celebrate the industry’s achievements and recognize the top-performing companies and leaders. Each year, GSA acknowledges companies that have demonstrated excellence through their visionary thinking, strategic acumen, successful execution, and potential for future growth. The celebration applauds the accomplishments of semiconductor companies across diverse categories, encompassing outstanding leadership, financial achievements, and their overall standing within the industry. To register for this year’s celebration, please visit the Awards registration page.